DIY: How to build Fiberglass Kick pods

FAQ's written to help guide you in Fabrication and custom installations
Chris from Washington

DIY: How to build Fiberglass Kick pods

Post by Chris from Washington »

This tutorial is designed to help you build a set of kickpods for your car.
This set is for my 3rd Gen Camaro, but you can use these steps to design some for any car.
This is my first attempt at making kickpods, but I think they came out pretty good so I thought I would share.
I have read other tutorials and some say to actually make a copy of your OEM kickpanel and do all your work on that. But looking at what I wanted to do, and since the factory panels are cheap for my car. I decided to graft my pod onto the factory one.
One thing while researching this project was that typically these types of speakers were meant for a infinite baffle type installation IE inside a door. So with my Hybrid Unity's that I installed they told me to not seal the kickpods but to cut out about a 4 inch hole in the back.
Material List:
  1. Fiberglass Resin
  2. Fiberglass Matt
  3. Old T-Shirt or some other really stretchy material
  4. Air Sander (faster), or sandpaper.
  5. Bondo
  6. Dremel with cutting disc.
  7. Masking Tape
  8. Hot Glue Gun
  9. SEM Texture Paint
  10. Small diameter wooden dowels
  11. Chip Brushes
  12. Aluminum Foil
  13. Respirator (optional but might be a good idea or at least do this with lots of ventilation.
  14. Rubber Gloves
Creating the back/mold
The first thing you're going to want to do is protect everything in the car that you don't want to accidentally get any fiberglass resin on. So take the masking tape and cover everything (carpet, plastic panels, everything). I did a couple layers of tape, it's cheap and I didn't want to take any chances.