Help with clipping in speakers and head unit gain

Car stereo head units, EQ, and DSP questions.
Joeslacker

Help with clipping in speakers and head unit gain

Post by Joeslacker »

Ok so I'm getting really pitchy highs when I turn my volume up on my Kenwood KFC-X303 cd receiver. I had a friend tell me to lower the right end of the line graph and I did so. Then he told me to lower the gain. I'm pretty new to car audio so I found two gains one in the crossover and one in DTE settings on the head unit.

I turned down the tweeter front right, front left, rear right, rear left, in the DTE settings to -3db from zero.

Then I turned down the tweeter gain left and gain right to -3db from zero as well. I also turned the front HPF and Rear HPF gain to -3db from zero as well.

This didn't seem to help the clipping. I'm using 14 awg wire at a length of about 20 feet each to each speaker. Don't know exactly what ohm setup it is but i would imagine if it's 2 ohm then maybe the speaker can't handle that power from the amp in my head unit maybe? (22 watts rms).[/color]Also my speakers are 4 ohm impendance 60 watt rms power handling and 39-32000 frequency response.

Any help would be much appreciated. Thanks guys.
OnYrMrk

Re: Help with clipping in speakers and head unit gain

Post by OnYrMrk »

Not sure of the "gain" setting on your headunit or amplifier. Does your headunit have a "loudness" setting. If so, make sure it is off. What is your current setup?
IASCA Certified SQ Judge
USACi Certified SQ Judge
MECA Certified SQ Judge
2010 USACi Spring Break Jam Modified SQ Champion
Moderator for https://www.facebook.com/groups/524841581331183/
CVD Audio Sales and Acquisitions Team
http://www.cvdaudio.com
Joeslacker

Post by Joeslacker »

OnYrMrk wrote:Not sure of the "gain" setting on your headunit or amplifier. Does your headunit have a "loudness" setting. If so, make sure it is off. What is your current setup?